Education Committee

Education Committee: The Education Committee is a team focused at executing various exciting initiatives that lead to increased awareness of addiction medicine topics, which hopefully can lead to bigger initiatives for change. It will cover a wide array of topics from basic 101 topics all the way to advanced addiction medicine topics. It will also include the logistic portion of getting CMEs. Please join the education committee and be part of the team that makes a difference.

Committee Co-Chairs: Jonathan Lee, MD & Brandon Wills, MD

Nominating Committee: The Nominating Committee’s primary responsibility is to set a Slate of Nominees for the VASAM Board Elections, to be held in the Fall of 2024 for the Term: January 1, 2025 – December 31, 2026. Those interested in nominating a VASAM Member, or self-nominating,  for any of the following positions: President-Elect, Secretary or Treasurer,  should reach out to the VASAM Administrators at as soon as possible for additional details.

VASAM Nominating Committee Co-Chairs: Dr. Debra O’Beirne, MD, FASAM; Dr. James Thompson, MD and Dr. Mary McMasters, MD, DFASAM

VASAM Region V Nominating Committee Member: Dr. Radhika Manhapra, MD

Legislative Committee

Legislative Committee: The Legislative Committee is a team that stands for important issues and bills that save lives and move addiction care forward in Virginia. Please join the team and contribute to this important cause.

Committee Chair:  Douglas Brown, MD

Membership Committee

Membership Committee: The Membership Committee is a team that brings all the excitement to the chapter. The committee will plan exciting projects/events to host and also interact with the members to bring value to the chapter. Please join the team to revamp and make VaSAM be a great representative for the state of VA in addiction medicine.

Committee Chair:  Faisal Mohsin, MD